Conformist vs Individuality

It’s the age old argument isn’t it? Which is better? To be just like everyone else or to be yourself. Today I learned that the ability to follow directions is more highly valued than who you are as a person. When applying for a dietetic internship, your application can be tossed out, without being evaluated, if you do not follow their directions. In other words, you could be the most qualified person for the job, but if you send in too much information you’ll be disregarded without evaluation. Am I the only one who finds that disgusting? Programs like these claim to be looking for creative and charismatic individuals, but that’s a load of crap. They want you to follow their directions. What happened to valuing the person? Higher education is meant to show you how to think, not what to think. I am disgusted by this gross mismatching of what’s supposed to be happening and what is. I used to worship the professionals, The doctors, the lawyers. I used to think that they had something I didn’t and I’ve spent the last 20 years trying to figure out what that was. I realize now that I have something they don’t. A free mind. I haven’t been forced to jump through so many hoops that it’s ground out my creativity. I refuse to be their showdog. I refuse to lose me. I’m just sorry it took me this long to realize it.

Leave a comment